SMBIOS Dilemma

3 08 2009

I guess I’m OC; that’s just the way I am. That’s why I tend to nitpick through every single detail with MacBook Mini. As I’d just finished with dabbling with Snow Leopard – for which experiment MacBook Mini has fallen docilely as prey – I said I’d restart anew. Yep, new install. That’s what people with absolutely no life do.

As you see, I’ve always been wondering why MacBook Wind happily assumes MacBook Air’s identity, embracing it as its own while MacBook Mini is a bit confused – ok, make that totally confused. In the past, whenever I checked Apple Menu > About This Mac > More Info . . . and System Profiler launches, it gave me a nonchalant “There was an error while gathering this information” as it highlighted by default the Contents > Hardware main header.

So when I reinstalled iDeneb 1.3 (10.5.5), I made sure I checked the SMBIOS option for a MacBook and true enough, when I checked just before updating to 10.5.7 as per my usual routine, here’s what I discovered:

10.5.5 as it is, delivered by iDeneb v1.3 actually can recognize MacBook Mini for what it really is. Even details pertaining to the Processer and Memory are correct. Although when I checked just the “About This Mac”, I still got this:

Upon further investigation; I found other tiny details that attest to my MacBook Mini being recognized as a MacBook by OS X:

That’s clearly a lappie depicted by the icon there. Now compare it to this (udpated to 10.5.7):

A Mac Pro, so it seems.

Actually, this shouldn’t be a problem. But for OC’ness sake, if ever such a word was, I find myself irritated with this. I tried extracting the MacBook SMBIOS from the iDeneb installer and apply it to MacBook Mini again but nothing happens.

I don’t know until when I can endure this and continue to just ignore stuff. Honestly, I’m reconsidering editing the DMI/BIOS again; I just have to figure out how to make the Mini be a MacBook without borking out the original HP logo in the boot splash nor getting a painfully slow boot up time.

Decisions, decisions…

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 04 2013
Emperor Social Scam

Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe that this amazing site needs a great deal more attention.
I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the info!

5 05 2013
Romeo

Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this website, and paragraph is really fruitful in support of me, keep up posting such articles or reviews.

30 05 2013
tinnitus treatment

First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I’ve had a difficult time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10
to 15 minutes are lost just trying to figure out how to
begin. Any recommendations or hints? Kudos!

12 07 2013
journalstandard

I was extremely pleased to find this great site. I need to to thank you for your time for this fantastic read!
! I definitely enjoyed every part of it and i also have you book-marked
to check out new things on your site.

3 08 2013
how to Get more views

Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clearness to your publish
is just excellent and i can suppose you are an expert on this subject.
Well with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with approaching post.

Thank you 1,000,000 and please continue the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

